Conference Co-sponsorship

The PIIRS Conference Co-sponsorship supports Princeton faculty research in international studies by providing funding for workshops, exploratory seminars and conferences organized by Princeton faculty and held on the Princeton campus.

PIIRS welcomes funding proposals from Princeton faculty for co-sponsorship of conferences and workshops.

Proposals for PIIRS' conference co-sponsorship will be reviewed on a first-come-first-serve basis. Funding will range from $2,000 to $10,000, with most awards falling between $2,000 and $5,000. PIIRS will no longer provide administrative support for conferences and workshops outside its existing programs.

Potential applicants must contact Nikki Woolward to ensure that the preferred dates of their events do not conflict with other PIIRS-sponsored programming. (In special cases, when a proposed event conflicts in timing but not in substance, e.g., a conference on world trade versus a film workshop, PIIRS may be petitioned to grant an exception to the date conflict. Such exceptions, however, will be rare over the course of an academic year).

Proposals, submitted to Nikki Woolward, must include:

  1. a two-page overview of the content;
  2. a detailed budget;
  3. a list of all other funding sources, secured or pending.

Further questions about applications to the PIIRS Conference Fund can be addressed to Stephen Kotkin (155 Louis A. Simpson International Building, 609-258-8261). To obtain approval for a proposed conference date, contact PIIRS program manager Nikki Woolward.

November 30, 2018
March 29, 2019
A conference in memory of Isabelle Clark-Deces. Keynote speaker: Jonathan Spencer (University of Edinburgh) Panel of speakers: Christopher Fuller (London School of Economics) Indira Arumugam (National University of Singapore) Dennis McGilvray (University of Colorado, Boulder) Frederick M. Smith (University of Iowa) Joseph Alter (University of Pittsburgh) Sharika Thiranagama (Stanford University) Philip Lutgendorf (University of Iowa) Smriti Srinivas (University of California, Davis) Eva Ambos (Heidelberg University) Erin Raffety (Princeton Theological Seminary) Leo Coleman (Hunter College) Sarah Pinto (Tufts University) Data Ram Purohit (HNB Garhwal University) Megan Amanda Steffen (Tsinghua University) Elizabeth Bittel (University of Colorado, Boulder) Ann Grodzins Gold (Syracuse University)
October 18, 2019
Featuring priestesses and priests from the Akan sacred path
Apply for Funds




Please contact PIIRS Program Manager Nikki Woolward with proposed dates for conferences prior to applying for the Conference Fund.

To propose a conference, contact PIIRS Director Stephen Kotkin.